I did it! I vowed that I would and I did! I crafted my first very own home-made Christmas in 2012.

All in all, I made:

6 jars of mulled wine plum jam
6 gift bags of sea salted chocolate snaps
5 knitted scarves
5 packets of sparkling vanilla Christmas cookies
4 knitted ‘rose’ corsages
4 bags of chocolate and cherry almond bark
1 gingerbread gift jar
1 cross-stitch sampler
1 bottle of cranberry-infused vodka

…and a partridge in a pear tree (well, ok, not that last one!).

jam

crossstich

It’s been such an enjoyable experience choosing patterns, yarns and recipes for friends and family and it was wonderful receiving their heartfelt thanks on Christmas day. It was just as I thought, it did mean more. And cost less.

chocs

Starting in August, I knitted my first scarf on holiday in Turkey, in 40+ degree heat! Crafting carried on right up until Christmas Eve and there was only one project which remains unfinished, first for next Christmas then!

turkey

I’ve made a mental list of those who have proved themselves to be ‘make and bake-worthy’ and have already starting researching patterns and recipes for Christmas 2013.

I think I may start crafting for Christmas even earlier this year…

Big thanks to the lovely @wisthelens ladies who have been, and remain, a constant source of inspiration and advice.

Roll on December 2013 – as my Christmas crafting is due to get even bigger and better!!